Home Page

Early Years Foundation Stage

At Bishop Henderson C of E School we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum during the first year of school. The curriculum consists of 7 areas of learning, 3 of which are prime areas and 4 are specific areas.
Prime areasSpecific Areas
Making RelationshipsLiteracy
Self confidence and Self AwarenessReading
Managing Feelings and BehaviourWriting
Communication and LanguageMathematics
Listening and AttentionNumbers
UnderstandingShape Space and measure
 Understanding the World
Physical Development 
 People and Communities
Moving and HandlingThe World
Health and Self CareTechnology
 Expressive Arts and Design
 Exploring and using Media and Materials
 Being Imaginative

The prime areas of learning underpin learning and development in the other specific areas. With this in mind, we start our year with a focus on the prime areas as the children settle into school, and then into classes, after a few weeks. In particular, we focus on children's social development and communication skills. School routines are established over a number of weeks, in order to introduce new opportunities gradually, such as Read Write inc (the teaching of synthetic phonics) PE, Forest School and Computing lessons. Throughout the year children have a variety of child-initiated and adult directed learning opportunities, both indoors and outdoors, utilising our creative area, courtyard and garden.


We welcome parent volunteers who have successfully completed a CRB check.